1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New equipment break even pt.

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by DeereGuy, Dec 17, 2003.

1. DeereGuy

DeereGuy Senior Member

I'm new to this site and have a couple of questions concerning purchasing new equipment. I'm wondering If anyone has purchased a new truck and plow with a thought as to when a break even point would or should occur. My current truck is on its last legs. I do have a 40HP JD1070 tractor/loader I would like to trailer for odd jobs, I could also stack snow with it. I am a self employed woodworker/cabinetmaker but don't make enough to afford a new vehicle without the equipment paying for a good chunk of the monthly payment. This is where the plowing comes in. Is it reasonable to risk purchasing new equipment that I really can't afford (ie.3/4 ton Ford or Chevy w/ 8' fisher,maybe a trailer read $32k+-), additional insurance, software etc to run a residential plow business this winter in a NH seacoast town full of high income bracket folks. I currently have 0 accounts but am a fast study. I would have to make a least 10k this winter for this plan to work. I know that this is what business plans are for but...hoping to get some input from you business minded folks short of driving up here to NH and slapping me upside the head and asking "what were you thinking!" Thanks
  2. DeereGuy

DeereGuy Senior Member