1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

NEW CUTTING EDGE?? Suggestions?

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by Tnlk84, Sep 22, 2009.

1. Tnlk84

Tnlk84 Junior Member

Hey guys I have no experience with snow removal equipment but I came across a snow plow for a fairly good deal which was used, only problem is I want to make sure I deliver a quality job and was wondering if anyone knew a place around Chicago where I can purchase a new 7'6 cutting blade/ edge? Or is there anyone on the forum that would know how to somehow "sharpen" it? I sound like such a new-b:dizzy: but I was wondering if anyone would somehow be able to help me with this. Thanks!

2. Dissociative

Dissociative 2000 Club Member

there are many many places to get you going......You need to help us narrow it down a little....

i'd be happy to give you a crash course on your stuff for a 6 pack of beer....and we can even bolt up the new edge and save you some money.....

e-mail me.......or just go to westerns site and search for a dealer and pay through the nose.

3. Tnlk84

Tnlk84 Junior Member

Ok sure, thanks now I just have to go pick it up. I was kind of skeptical and didnt want to buy it before looking into a new cutting edge. Thanks!!

4. Mark Oomkes

Mark Oomkes PlowSite Fanatic

5. snowman55

snowman55 PlowSite.com Addict

you have to make sure your edge is filed at 25 degrees use a standard hand file it is easier to do this with the cutting edge off the plow. hope this helps

6. Mark Oomkes

Mark Oomkes PlowSite Fanatic

You're joking, right?

A hand file on your cutting edge?

Aren't we supposed to be helping newbies?