1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

new blade question

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by coppertec, Oct 1, 2013.

1. coppertec

coppertec Member
    from calgary

hey all,

newb question I am comparing a few plows that I will be installing on my Silverado this season. I am new to this so I haven't had the chance to test any plow in the field my self so I turned to the forums to get an idea. I am limited to about 6-7k for this so I automatically assumed I could only afford a straight blade, which I have priced out at 6400-6800 installed.

I did finally get a quote on a Vee just to see what the cost difference would be and comparing the western pro series 2 at 6300, she told me it was only an 800 walk to a Vee plow.

if I am doing light commercial + residential driveways, what should I use? was told that the 7 foot western blade would be great for me since it is maneuverable and depending on my front axle, a good weight, but I thought Vees would be more maneuverable?

any suggestions or pros/ cons to share for either style?

truck is a 2011 Silverado 2500hd WT regular cab with a plow package. dunno the front axle weight yet.

thanks!

2. JustJeff

JustJeff 2000 Club Member

7' is too small for your truck. You need a MINIMUM of a 7'-6". You should be able to find a v blade for your budget without much problem.

3. coppertec

coppertec Member
    from calgary

I thought it would be too small too. dunno why that woman was saying it would work well when I told her it was for commercial type jobs.

4. 1olddogtwo

1olddogtwo PlowSite Fanatic