1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New at ice management

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by Kevlar, Oct 18, 2011.

1. Kevlar

Kevlar Junior Member
    from Gardner

I am not a professional by any means. I use a ATV and a 6' plow to do drives and small lots. This year I am offering ice management with a 50lb hopper on the back of my quad. I am curious what will or will not damage concrete drives and the best to use.

I as also trying to find the best way to get melt in bulk for about 20 driveways. I dont need a dump site by any means. Just something I can haul in my truck to refill the hopper from site to site.

Thank you for any insight.

One more thing. Fair pricing for a drive approx. 20x80.

Last edited: Oct 18, 2011
  2. wisco-revi

wisco-revi Junior Member

magnesium chloride is recommended for new concrete especially when it is under 1 year old. since you just have a 50lb hopper i would just go with a pallet of bagged salt

3. Schoenberg Salt

Schoenberg Salt Member

Please ask your vendor for something in writing about MAG being ok on new concrete... when they refuse to give that to you then you can be assured it is not safe for concrete less then 1 year old.

4. wisco-revi

wisco-revi Junior Member

tests and chemical properties show MAG as you call it, is less corrosive to concrete and to steel/other iron alloys as well as less harmful to plants/landscaping as opposed to tradition sodium chloride rock salt. i don't need my supplier to tell me that. science tells me that. not saying MAG isnt corrosive but in a comparison against rock salt it is less corrosive than rock salt.

5. Schoenberg Salt

Schoenberg Salt Member