1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New and need recommendations....

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by rodneyamolt, Oct 2, 2007.

1. rodneyamolt

rodneyamolt Junior Member

Hi i'm new to the snow plowing industry, actually i have yet to start but i just started a lawn business and i want to continue my business into the winter with snow plowing and i'm kind of on a tight budget and i need some ideas for a good cheaper plow :) i know it kind of sounds being cheap but i was thinking about the superplow from superplow.com you can hook it up to the hitch i believe and plow that way. I'm trying to focus my business on more residential areas and driveways. What would you guys suggest.
  2. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

What model of truck do you have?

next, I would go with a traditional plow, one that mounts to the front.
  3. rodneyamolt

I have...

I have a 2007 Dodge Ram 1500
  4. rodneyamolt

just out of curiousity

why would you suggest a traditional plow... the superplow looks like it would be pretty easy to move around the snow in driveways.. with a regular plow i would push it up towards thier garages and it would be more difficult to get it off of it?
  5. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

How would you stack the snow?

Now you have pulled the snow to the end of the drive now what?
    Where do you put the snow and how?
    What if you get a blizzard and have to plow your way to your accounts?

With a traditional plow you would pull up to the garage and back drag the snow away from the garage door.

For residential drives a back plow is a good idea but you will still need a plow mounted to the front.