1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

New 3/4: ton need to decide

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Cwlo1448, Apr 26, 2004.

1. Cwlo1448

Cwlo1448 Junior Member
    from Chicago

I'm looking to buy a new Chevy 2500 HD or Ford F250. Without getting into the age old fight about which is better, I'm leaning towards the chevy since it seems to drive a bit smoother. It does sit a little low, and doesn't look as nice as the Ford. Any other drawbacks?

2. wfd44

wfd44 Senior Member
    from Maine

Since it uses straight axle and leaf-spring front suspension, the Ford will probably carry the balde a little better. I have no direct experience with the Ford but I know first hand that in 1988 when GM went to IFS it was quite noticable that the (then new) 1988 K series didn't carry the blade as comfortably as the straight axle '87's. However the IFS '88's seemed to get better traction when pushing.

The biggest advantages (as I see them) on the Chevy side are ride and comfort. A friend of mine has a loaded F250SD Lariat for his personal truck and 3 Chevrolets for his business (2-2500HD's and a 3500HD Dump). He is always commenting that his basic 2500's ride better and have better stereo's than his high dollar Ford.

Power is the other place they differ. Base gas engine - advantage GM 6.0L over Fords 5.4L. Optional engines probably a draw - GM 8.1L V8 vs. Ford's V-10 and Duramax vs. Power Stroke.

As for looks, I would skip both Ford and Chevy and get a GMC with the 6.0 and quadra steer.
  3. nsmilligan

nsmilligan PlowSite.com Veteran