1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Neep help for season contract please

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by shovelracer, Aug 5, 2008.

1. shovelracer

shovelracer Senior Member

OK I have been doing a commercial lot for 5 years now. At first it was vacant and small, then they built a new building and tripled the lot size. Up till now they have always wanted a per push / per pound price. That was fine until last year. Their salt usage for last year was 500% the average of the other years due to the many small ice storms we had. I have the pushing price pretty good since all years have been within 2-3 pushes. Not sure where to go with the salt pricing. My instinct is to use the highest amount as my starting point, but I dont want to scare them off since its good money. I have an average on 4 years for salt since year 1 it was vacant and no one was there. Any thoughts on the subject would be good. Thanks

2. QuadPlower

QuadPlower PlowSite.com Addict

If you feel good about the seasonal plowing price, then do it. It is guarenteed money.

I would probably explain to them like this. "Last year was a freak year in that we had a lot of small ice storms. I'm not saying that won't be the case this year, but I don't want to over charge you if the salt is not needed. Budget for last years amount and if it is less, you will have money at the end."

Good Luck

3. shovelracer

shovelracer Senior Member