1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Need to run a second battery?

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by ks_grasscutter, Nov 22, 2013.

1. ks_grasscutter

ks_grasscutter Junior Member

I am new to plowing with a truck, previously have just plowed with an ATV. I will be running an 8' straight blade, either Boss or Western. Do I need to add a second battery or upgrade my alternator in order to run the plow? Will be on a NBS 2000 Chevy 3/4 ton with the 6.0 engine.

Just ordered a set of Timbrens to keep the suspension from sagging. Also just had a new set of Hankook ATZs put on it. Anything else I need to watch for or upgrade?

2. Antlerart06

Antlerart06 PlowSite Veteran

Yes and no I run one battery in my gas trucks
    Yes and No on a alternator All depends on the plow you buy what amps it draws IF plowing for 12 hrs straight might be better get a high amp alternator but if you plowing for a few hours no need for it

3. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

Either extra batt or alt would be a good idea

4. JCByrd24

JCByrd24 Senior Member
    from Maine

Try it out first and see how your lights and voltmeter react to the plow. Make sure you have good clean wiring connections and look into upgrading truck cables from alternator to battery regardless.

Some newer Chevy's have computer controlled charging that does not react quickly enough to the plow amp draw and this causes the voltage to drop/lights to dim and in my case an ABS system message in the message center. In my case I upgraded to a single Diehard Platinum (Odyssey) AGM battery and this solved the problem of the voltage dropping low enough to trigger the ABS message. The next step would be dual batteries.