1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Need to plow apartment complex- owner

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by Charlie7, Sep 15, 2007.

1. Charlie7

Charlie7 Junior Member

I am trying to figure out the best way to plow a small apartment complex. I am a general contractor and I have a Bobcat 763, so the best bet is for me to use the machine I have. The greatest challenge is the large number of driveways that end in garages, so pulling the snow back will be an issue. I was considering a snow bucket, which could double as a garbage/ scrap bucket in summer. Should I also consider a plow attachment? Or a box? This will be really the only plowing job I have to do, except for my personal residence, so I don't think it worthwhile to put a plow on my Chevy 1500 4x4.

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

In all honesty - the best bet is to hire a good plow contractor with a back blade. The next best would be to put a snow plow attachment on that 763. I just checked the price of a hydraulic skidsteer attachment about a week ago - 7' is around $3500. You could get pretty close and backblade; but you'd still either shovel in front of the garage doors or run the risk of sliding into them. The worst would be to try to "plow" with a bucket attachment. Very slow since you only go a few feet and get a full bucket which then needs to be hauled off and dumped. It also does a poor job and you're always driving over unplowed snow and packing it down which becomes impossible to scrape up. Besides the likelihood of damaging a garage door trying to get close scooping up snow. Is your 763 enclosed and heated? It gets real cold at 5:00 AM after a few minutes.

3. Rcgm