1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Need some help.

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by born2farm, Oct 6, 2011.

1. born2farm

born2farm 2000 Club Member

Ok guys. I have been asking a lot of questions lately, but since this is my first year being able to do everything legal, I want to do it right. Here is a little background on my operation. I am 18 (almost 19) and I own Goodman Snow Services,LLC. I plow in the winter and farm the rest of the year. I run two trucks in the winter and have finally started selling quite a bit of work this winter. Here is where my road block comes. I know how to price the work, I know how to interact with the customers, I know how to do the work, I am just struggling getting the business side straightened out. I have read the Ohio Business Gateway Website front to back as well as the Ohio Workers Comp Website. I feel like I am forgetting stuff that needs done and everytime I think I have all the appropriate paperwork straigtend something else pops up. This is my first time hiring employees and such so it is just a little overwhelming. I have tried talking to a local business attorney as wel as a few contractors. None of them seem to want to help the young guy, so I turn here. I am going to throw a list out of what I have done. Some of it will be in no particular order. I just need to get some stuff straighted out. I keep selling work and feel like I am just digging a bigger hole for my self. Its not that I cant handle the work im selling, I just wish I had the business straight first. I really need to figure out what my future costs are going to be in order to figure out my rates.

Here is my list