1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Need some help, Western LSX

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by HAZMAT, Nov 10, 2007.

1. HAZMAT

HAZMAT Junior Member

Hello, I am rather new to the snow plowing business. I bought 97 K1500 that came with a Western LSX series plow. Everything worked for the season, Left it sitting outside and I went to try and move it during the summer and I got no response from the plow itself. Went under the hood and found the positive terminal were the plow hooks up to melted to the battery. I did not bother with it until now because I want to get it ready for the snow if it ever comes. Some background on the plow its the Western LSX series and it has a electronic hand held controller. I noticed the terminals to the battery and to the solenoid were rather corroded so I re did everything and installed a new solenoid. I also went through the wireing the best I could and checked all in line fuses. Yesterday after cleaning up all the connections including the ones on the plow itself I hooked it all up and well.... theres a problem. I'll start out with the lighting on the snowplow. The lights do not come on the plow unless I have my high beams on, the amber running lights work but only the right turn signal flashes. As far as the plow itself goes, the hand held controller has the back light lit up but the power button doesn't light up and I get no response. Anyone have any ideas? It sounds like a ground problem?

Thanks,
    Kevin

2. powerjoke

powerjoke PlowSite.com Addict

the controller and the lights are not related you do not need the lights to make the plow work