1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Need some help/tips for my new Strobe Beacon

Discussion in 'Strobe Lighting' started by muzicmon101, Jan 21, 2011.

1. muzicmon101

muzicmon101 Junior Member
    from Vermont

Hey everyone, I'm the new guy on here and probably the youngest. I'm 17 and ive been plowing commercial/residential since I was 15 but ive been behind the wheel since I was 7 so I have some experience haha but anyways, I just got a Whelen 2012 Strobe Beacon Rapidfire and I wanted some tips/advice/help on how to install it. I don't know if there is already a thread somewhere but I was reading the directions and it said not to put it into a circut breaker and the one on my truck right now is tied into a circut breaker and you get 5-10 flashes then it will stop for maybe seconds or up to a week before it will run again and would the circut breaker be causing that problem? I don't want the same to happen to this new light. Any help/advice/tips/suggestions or videos would be nice. Thanks
  2. cameo89

cameo89 Senior Member

First off Welcome to Plowsite!:waving:

I would use a 30 amp relay, that way you can power it from the battery (fused), activate relay with ingnition, then activate on/off switch with ignition, so you will never have the chance of leaving it on when ignition is off.

Some of the other guys will more than likely chime in with more or better ideas, but this is what I would do.

Good luck
  3. Pirsch

Pirsch Senior Member

Welcome aboard... that's a self contained strobe... Here's a PDF file for a perm mount light... has the fuses and all... This should help you out.

Hope this helps.. Good luck!
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2011
  4. Strobesnmore