1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Need Some Advice (long)

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by cold_and_tired, Sep 16, 2009.

1. cold_and_tired

cold_and_tired PlowSite.com Addict

Well guys, for the past few months, I have been considering moving the business into a shop.

Here is a little history on myself and the business.

I worked as an estimator for an excavating company until I was laid off in June of 2008. Once that happened, I started a small welding business out of my garage. I focused mainly on building window well covers. I found myself branching out to landscaping to make ends meet. I have made a living doing both but I wont be a millionaire anytime soon. This is going to be my 4th season plowing snow, I started doing it to make ends meet in the winter while I was working as an estimator.

As of 3:00 today, I have 17 contracts for snow removal. 13 of them are gas stations and the other 4 are all commercial buildings.

Right now, my business is being ran out of my garage. We do all vehicle maintenance in the driveway and I do all of the welding inside. This wouldnt bother me too much except for the fact that I have neighbors 10 feet to the left and right of me. They are all good friends and very understanding but I'm sure I am getting on their nerves. Not to mention the fact that I run a big risk of burning down the house.

I currently have two plow trucks and a gooseneck trailer, I am leasing a skid for the winter.