1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Need opinions on salt spreaders in a hurry!!1

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by hardwoodcd, Nov 20, 2012.

1. hardwoodcd

hardwoodcd Senior Member

I am purchasing a one ton dump truck with a 10' crysteel dump body on it. I have been plowing for quite a few years but I'm brand new to salting. It is going to take about 6 tons of salt to do the lot I'm taking over. I need your opinions on salters. V Box vs. under tailgate. And what name brand and model you guys are having the best luck with. As always, thanks in advance!!!
    Casey

2. rblake

rblake Senior Member
    from dayton

i have always used a v box spreader. you would need to fill up three times if you get a 1.8 yard box. never did like the idea of having the bed up when salting. my friends with larger dump trucks use under tail gate spreaders all the time.

3. lawnboy2121

lawnboy2121 Senior Member

a fisher 10 ft vbox will hold 4 yds or tons heaped. I have fisher, downeaster, and torell sanders they all work good the fisher throws the farthest of the three i have

4. Morrissey snow removal

Morrissey snow removal PlowSite.com Addict

i always liked the torwells with hide away hydrolics ice are nice if they still made them and hi ways are good aswell

5. hardwoodcd

hardwoodcd Senior Member

I should also mention that my truck doesn't have central hydraulics so an under tailgate would have to be electric.

6. lilweeds

lilweeds PlowSite.com Addict

I like my Swenson RTEL. Great spreader and since it's lighter then most v boxes I can haul more salt. Also having the salt in the back makes for good ballast for the plow.

7. leigh

leigh PlowSite.com Addict
    from CT