1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Need input on time and sidewalks

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by Hunter9, Jan 1, 2012.

1. Hunter9

Hunter9 Member

I have been plowing for over 17 years, and have done both commercial and residential over that time. I moved away from commercial (got a new job and did not want to be over committed).
    Any-who, I am still doing mostly resi's (14 now all within a 3 mile radius) and I got a call tonight from a good current customer to bid their church. This is the biggest site I have done in about 10 years and need some input please.

The building is L shaped and the lot is approx 57000 +/- sq ft. There is also a home in the trees to the right of the church that has a straight 12' wide 350 ft long drive. I am running a F350 8" boss blade. Question is how long to plow a 2-4" storm? 1 hour? 1.25 hours?

Next I may also be asked to bid sidewalks, I would use a Toro single stage for them. There is almost 700 running feet of sidewalk varying from 4-5' wide. How long would this take? 30 minutes? 45 minutes?

Last how much salt with a lot this size take after a normal storm? And how much for the side walks? (I have never salted this large of a property before)

Thanks for the help!

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jan 1, 2012
  2. Wayne Volz

Wayne Volz Senior Member

Estimate for church

Plow time about an hour at 35% efficiency factor with your 8 foot plow. About 750 pounds of material on average

Sidewalk time at .70 hour at 60% eff. factor at .8 mph average clearing speed. About 280 - 300 lbs. of material for walks at 8 pounds per 1,000 square feet.