1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

need input on how to price

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by windrowsnow, Aug 30, 2008.

1. windrowsnow

windrowsnow Senior Member
    from nw ohio

hello fellow plowers,

i have been plowing snow for many many years and recently have been asked to bid on four large parking lots....the largest ive ever bid. im just wondering to know how long they would take and what to charge. ive bid many smaller lots but nothing this size.

the lots are as follows.

1. 250x540 mostly open with 6 cart corrals and islands
    2. 772x366 again with the same coralls and islands
    3. 677x330 the same as above
    4. 300x824 same as above

i have no idea what they are worth or where to begin to quote lots this size lets say each lot will have an 8 foot straight blade with a 14 foot box blade
    lets here the info.

2. elite1msmith

elite1msmith 2000 Club Member
    from chicago

figure out your time, then multiply by your hourly rate

3. windrowsnow

from nw ohio

that is exactly what i was going to do but im trying to get feed back from others on how long they beleive it would take to plow this.i can look at a lot and tell how long i believe it will take and usually im ball park. i just dont know if there are any price breaks for being large open lots. six acres of parking lot is alot of pavement

4. elite1msmith

from chicago

general rule of thumb, 1 acre per hour with a truck

5. JD Dave

JD Dave PlowSite Fanatic

Just out of curiousity, how much equipment are you going to put on all these lots?

6. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic