1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

need info please.....

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by alstonas, Nov 15, 2008.

1. alstonas

alstonas Junior Member

I am looking at buying a 1991 full size bronco, I am planning to put a plow on it. The western v plow with the trip edge has my attention right now. I am looking for comments on how my rig will handle the plow, any mods I might have to make on the suspension etc. Also does anyone have any input on this "western" v-plow itself. Would you talk me into a different plow Boss or whatever and why.
    Edit Report

2. Grass Master

Grass Master Banned

I have had 10 years of experience running Broncos with plows we currently have 6 of these set ups. All of them have 7.5 Western straight blades all our broncos have airlift bags in the front coils. I know the broncos have a ridiculously tight turning radius which is good but if you look in the door jam you will see the GFAWR is something like 2000 lbs which is why they don't recommend putting a plow on these vehicles.

Our newest acquisition is a '92 with new Western 7.5 pro plow, this design is different from the older 7.5's in that the turning rams are mounted way too low for this truck and the light tower is built sturdy enough to be recovery point, this adds un needed weight IMO. They have added guards to the back of the turning rams to protect them however these bottom out all the time driving down the street:cry: and it is a heck of a wakeup call when pushing snow over a curb in a parking lot. We have decided if we put another plow on a bronco it will be a Boss. Finally unless you need the super short wheel base and tight turning hold out for pick-up, I know I much prefer a pick up.