1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

    Dismiss Notice

need help with truckside changeeover

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by macbe, Mar 5, 2016.

  1. macbe

    macbe Junior Member
    Messages: 20

    i currently have first generation standard ultramount,2 plug.
    i picked up a proplow 3 wire,to replace other plow
    called dealer for what i needed gave me a rough price of 2000.00
    controller i can use,what do i need to change it to 3-plug iam lost.
    only paid 1800 for plowside.am i really looking at 2000.00 for truckside.

    2004 f-250
    5.4
    6'bed
    thanks for any help.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2016
  2. Randall Ave

    Randall Ave PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,920

    So, the truck is already wired for a two plug, and it has a frame?
     
  3. PremierSnowPlow

    PremierSnowPlow Senior Member
    Messages: 125

    Should only need Iso and new battery cable?
     
  4. macbe

    macbe Junior Member
    Messages: 20

    Yes truck had western plow on it.
    Truck needs to be changed to accept 3 wire setup from plowside.
    Currently is 2 plug relay
     
  5. Randall Ave

    Randall Ave PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,920

    Ya need the three port module, related harnesses. You do not need a new relay, or battery cables, or controller.
     
  6. Western1

    Western1 Senior Member
    from MI.
    Messages: 674

    You could change the plow side then you can use either plow.

    Not sure what your setup is if you have more than one truck or plows?
     
  7. LapeerLandscape

    LapeerLandscape PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,585

    Either way it should be much less then $2000. thats nuts.
     
  8. PremierSnowPlow

    PremierSnowPlow Senior Member
    Messages: 125

    If you're going to 3 plug you need a new battery cable, 2 plug has 4 prong battery cable and 3 plug has 2.. You need main harness since you will need a solenoid that's on the truck not the plow itself, and should be able to use your current iso module.
     
  9. Randall Ave

    Randall Ave PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,920

    His old plow is not Fleet Flex. It's and old unimount.
     
  10. PremierSnowPlow

    PremierSnowPlow Senior Member
    Messages: 125

    I assumed it was cause it says 2 plug ultramount
     
  11. Randall Ave

    Randall Ave PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,920

    OK, I'm half wrong, he says the old plow is a first generation ultra. Still shouldn't be fleet flex. Pics from these would always help us.
     
  12. macbe

    macbe Junior Member
    Messages: 20

    Old truck and plow use the unimount wire system.ground plug is only 2prong.other plug is for headlights and controller run off relays and not a modular.hope this clears it up.Truck is 2004 f-250 early build date.
    Thanks for you guys help.last price was close to 700.00.Got cost less than that I would think
     
  13. Philbilly2

    Philbilly2 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,552

    You can get one simple plow side control and lighting wiring harness and it will allow you to use your existing 2 plug truck side harness. I have done it dozens of times. It will work.

    I want to say that the plow side harness was like $150. It has been years since I have bought one, but I am sure I can find you a part number in my files if you want to take that route.
     
  14. macbe

    macbe Junior Member
    Messages: 20

    Thanks philbilly2.
    That would be great if I can do that and if you could find parts numbers
     
  15. Philbilly2

    Philbilly2 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,552

    61438 is the western part number
     
  16. macbe

    macbe Junior Member
    Messages: 20

    Thanks.Will check this option out.
     
  17. macbe

    macbe Junior Member
    Messages: 20

    Checked that part number
    Says won't work if lights were changed to
    Nitesaber.pretty sure that's what are on this plow.
     
  18. Western1

    Western1 Senior Member
    from MI.
    Messages: 674

    Do you have a picture of them? You can convert nighthawk lights to that harness.
     
  19. Philbilly2

    Philbilly2 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,552

    Nite sabers... we working on a Western or a Meyer?

    I am confused now.

    If this is a Western, that harness will infact work with Nite Hawks. I have 2 plows currently with that setup and have had like 10 of them set up with Nite Hawks and that harness. It will work. You only have a ground, an 12v for high beams and a 12v for low beams. There is nothing special in a nitehawk
     
  20. macbe

    macbe Junior Member
    Messages: 20

    Yes it is a western,I really appreciate your help and knowledge.so this harness will incorporate the lights and controller together,so I end up with just the two plug system.