1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Need help with tire chains

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by nogo8188, Nov 13, 2012.

1. nogo8188

nogo8188 Junior Member

Hi Guys,
    I'm new to plowing and need help selecting some tire chains. I will only be plowing my own driveway, so I hope to purchase the chains second hand. However, most sellers only post lengths, widths, and style of chains they have. They do not post the manufacturer's part number, which I could then reference online. My vehicle is an 88 K5 Blazer with a Fisher Speedcast plow. The tires are size 33x12.50 R15. My driveway is half flat, and half on a slope. Its also already in fairly rough shape, so I'm not concerned about further damage. Any recommendations on style of chain, and what size to buy, would be very much appreciated. Thanks!
  2. camp61

camp61 Member

Is that K5 2wheel drive? I've been plowing my own in West Mich. for about 6 years and never needed chains with 4x4. Good tires and ballast in the back should do fine! Of course I'm plowing with 3/4 ton PU.
  3. jasonv

jasonv PlowSite.com Addict
    from kannada

The load capacity of the truck does nothing to improve traction. Only its own weight does, but not nearly as much as chains do. Chains make a night/day difference in traction, and I highly recommend them for any vehicle plowing over an ICE BASE. Over pavement, probably not.
  4. nogo8188

nogo8188 Junior Member