1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Need help with pricing

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by 3countysnow, Oct 16, 2006.

1. 3countysnow

3countysnow Junior Member
    from PA

I am new to the snow plowing business. I have a 2002 Chevy 2500 HD with a gas motor. I am purchasing a 8'2" Boss power v plow and a Boss salt spreader. I have no idea what I should be charging per hour. I will be plowing in Central PA. I am going to focus on residential accounts to start out, but I may take on a commercial account or two. From reading the Forums I noticed most guys are charging a flat rate for residential accounts. Any suggestions on how to determine the price for a residential account?

wesport Always moving forward wesport

2. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

For get charging by the HR..
    It will take a novice longer to plow an area that a seasoned Pro.
    Why would the pro make less than the novice???? Working by the HR...
    what I'm saying is in the beginning it will take you longer to plow a drive but as you get more efficient at plowing it will not take as long and you will make LESS.

price/bid by the job. You can use the HR or other formulas to figure out your rates will be.
    You can have a minimum fee.

What to charge?? what will the market in your area bear?. what is the going rate in your area?.
    How much do you need to make to cover your bills and make a profit?..
    What are you going to charge?.

Have you ever plowed before?
    Do you have the proper INS?

Last edited: Oct 16, 2006
  3. 3countysnow

3countysnow Junior Member
    from PA