1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

need help with picking the right plow

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by gonorth16, Jan 21, 2012.

1. gonorth16

gonorth16 Junior Member
    from so.nh

Hi all, Im peter and Im new to the site. I have a 2006 gmc sierra 1500hd crew cab and want to put a plow on it. I been looking at the fisher's and would like to get opinions from peolpe who use these for a living. Im a electrician by trade and use my truck for work and a daily driver. Im looking to plow my driveways, family and hopefully grab some accounts as well. My question is what would you reccomend for a plow? the fisher HT,SD or XD. Thanks in advance, Peter

2. peteo1

peteo1 PlowSite.com Addict

None of the above. If you want a fisher, buy the hd model. Yeah its a bit heavier but its built a lot better. I have one on my half ton and it works great. Besides, for what you're going to pay for the ht or sd models, might as well spend the extra couple bucks.

3. gonorth16

gonorth16 Junior Member
    from so.nh

I was looking at the hd model, sorry in my first post I listed a xd, which I meant to list HD. Does your front end sag alot? Your right its only a hundred dollars more than the sd model. Do you think Im going to need the Timbrens installed? thanks for your help

4. mercer_me

mercer_me PlowSite Fanatic

You should definitely go with the HD, your 1500HD will handle that with out a problem.

5. gonorth16

gonorth16 Junior Member
    from so.nh

Thanks,
    I'll play it bye ear on the Timbrens , if I have to add them I will.

6. peteo1