1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Need help with E57 works then stops working

Discussion in 'Meyer / Diamond Products Discussion' started by Aveerainc, Jan 29, 2009.

1. Aveerainc

Aveerainc Senior Member
    from NH

My 4 year old Meyer plow with E57 is acting up. Sometimes it will not come on at all (touch pad) and then after a while it will randomly come on (everything on the plow works) and then it will randomly quit again.

My guess is an electrical problem somewhere - any suggestions as to where to look first?

Thanks!
    Joe in NH

2. 04sd

04sd Senior Member
    from pa

I have no experience with the touchpad but it sounds like you have a bad connection or maybe a bad ground somewhere. Start working your way back through the harness and check all of the connections to make sure they're clean and tight. Try to find where they tapped in to get power for the controller.

3. Aveerainc

Aveerainc Senior Member
    from NH

Thanks for the help. First I'm going to replace the starter solenoid because at the 11th hour (literally) last night I damaged it trying to trouble shoot things. I suspect the solenoid is not properly grounded and perhaps the old one was on its way out. If this does not solve it then at least I deleted one possible gremlin from the list.

I found a HD starter solenoid made by Fisher (dealer around the corner from me) for $11. Can't go wrong there.

4. Aveerainc

Aveerainc Senior Member
    from NH

I purchased the new solenoid starter made by Trombetta and installed it this afternoon. The touch pad lights up BUT displays the red light (circuit overload) as soon as a button other than the down button is touched on the touch pad.