1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Need HELP Wiring 6' Meyer's to 88 Toyota 4x4

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by pondguy22, Nov 9, 2008.

1. pondguy22

pondguy22 Junior Member

I am a NEWBIE here looking for some wiring help. I have never been good with wiring, and plows are no exception! The plow is older with no verifiable #'s or words on it. The only thing that has any writing on it is the Electrotouch E-47 pump. I am guessing that it is a "power angle" model plow. I took it off of a 1987 Jeep Cherokee and have the harness from it. I want to wire it up to my 1988 Toyota 4x4 pickup to do some plowing on our farm. I am sure I could get it to work, but I want someone who knows what they are doing to lend me some good advice so I don't ruin the truck wiring and have working blinkers! The controller is the one with the three giant toggle switches on it; one for up/down, one for left/right, and one for the lights I think. I am thinking that I could just use most of the wiring I got from the Jeep, but I may be wrong, and I know it won't be the last time either!
    So, any generous GENIUS out there wants to help, I certainly would appreciate it.

Thanks Fellas

2. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic

First we need to determine which style of plow lights you have as their have been several styles over the years and they do not all wire the same way.

Here's the manual for the old Trucklite style lights: Trucklite

Notice the color codes as well as the 6 terminal light switch and the fact that they're "hard wired" into the stock truck wiring without the use of any "plug and play" adapters. Does this match what you currently have?

3. pondguy22

pondguy22 Junior Member