1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Need Help- What truck to get?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by mponcelet, Dec 20, 2012.

1. mponcelet

mponcelet Junior Member

So im just starting out and im looking for a truck with a plow to do some light plowing this season to start out and start with a decent sized 2 man operation next year. Heres my question. So ive been looking around for a while and here are the two trucks/ plows ive come along.

2001 Chevy 2500 hd 6.0 automatic tranny reg cab
    112,000 miles
    fresh brakes, fluids you name it
    New tires
    It is kinda beat up though. The back right has a dent in it and the rear bumper is rusted out.
    with an 8 1/2 foot Western Uni Mount plow in great condition
    $4,500

or a
    1990 Ford F 350 7.3 idi non turbo 5 speed manual
    220,000 miles
    alright tires
    great condition tho looks in great shape
    8 foot western uni mount plow
    $3,700 b/o

Im new to this all so should I go with a newer gas truck or is an older nicer shape diesel truck. Also how does the 5 speed play in? This would also be my daily driver throughout the year.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks

2. Banksy

Banksy PlowSite Veteran

The Chevy ..................and I'm a Ford guy.

3. Buck331

Buck331 Member

4. birddseedd

birddseedd PlowSite Veteran

do you ever expect to do salting? the 2500 does not have the payload to carry a full load of salt and a plow.

5. mnglocker

mnglocker Senior Member

Neither. Both have been used as plow trucks. One in excess of ten years, the other in excess of 20. And if they're from MN (The rust belt) they're shot.

6. Banksy

Banksy PlowSite Veteran