1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Need help w/ older Western Isarmatic Mark IIIa

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by bernd, Nov 13, 2010.

1. bernd

bernd Junior Member

Hello all! I'm new to plows and plowing. I have an older Western plow with an Isarmatic Mark IIIa pump/motor system. The ram/piston will raise and lower, and the plow will angle right. It will not angle left. Instead, it raises the ram/piston. In trying to search out this problem I've found sites that say to clean or replace the "B" valve. I'm not sure where that is or how to access it. I did find a manual online from Western, but it wasn't much help. I'm fairly mechanical, just new to plows and hydraulics. I did flush and fill the rams before mounting and they seem to move back and forth freely otherwise.

I also have another pump (Prestolite, I think.. has a tag that reads "MEZ 7002"). This pump would angle right and left, but would not raise the ram/piston.. the motor just spun. I'd like get the first problem sorted out first then will look into fixing this other pump for a spare.

I'm kind of at the end of my rope.. worked on it all day yesterday, so thanks in advance!

bernd

2. kbsnow

kbsnow Senior Member
    from Chicago