1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Need help V plow angle cylinder..

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by TSG, Dec 11, 2003.

1. TSG

TSG Member

I just went out and hooked up my plow to check it over and noticed that one cylinder won't hold that side of the plow outward. It creeps back ever so slowly. Since I am completely new to plows... what is wrong (if anything) and what should I do about it?

Plow is a 7.6 Boss RT II

Thanks in advance!

2. BIGREDDODGE

BIGREDDODGE Junior Member

Is it leaking oil on the ground, how fast does it creep back? Could be you just have a valve sticking a little, you could replace it or, it might work itself out.

3. TSG

TSG Member

There is no oil on the ground. As far as how fast does it creep back.. I can see it moving. Not sure how long it takes to go from fully forward to completely back... maybe a minute or two.

I could go out and time it?

Is it easy to repair? Costly?

4. BIGREDDODGE

I'm not sure how expensive it is, but If you are a little handy, you could try to drain the oil, and pull the valve out and check for any dirt that is in there, it is also a good idea to change the oil after a couple of years of sevice. I would reccommend using the boss fluid again.

5. TSG

TSG Member

Thanks for the info.. I'll try to take a look at the valve. I just purchased the plow and the previous owner told me that it was recently serviced.. all new hoses and changed fluid. This is a bummer!

6. nsmilligan

nsmilligan PlowSite.com Veteran