1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Need Help in Finding the Right Equipment

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by oatc, Sep 4, 2008.

1. oatc

oatc Junior Member
    from Midwest

Hi,

I'm new to snow removal and need some help in picking out the right equipment for my crew. I work for a property management company that has decided to do their all their own snow removal. Last year one of our smaller properties did a trial and the workers complanied that they had a hard time with our 3500 Dually and a 9 foot blade and spreader. Now we will be doing two much larger shopping center parking lots. We're located in the Chicago Suburbs. Our guys do not have CDL's so

Any info on recommended trucks, plows, and spreaders would be greatly appreciated.

- Would it be good to get one large truck for moving mass and one smaller one to clean around cars?

Thanks!

2. Vaughn Schultz

Vaughn Schultz PlowSite.com Addict

Wow . . . . . . I dont see this going well :rolleyes:

3. RLM

RLM PlowSite.com Addict

Without knowing the sites (sizes, layouts, service expectations, etc) it is IMPOSSIBLE to give you a equipment list, etc. This is why you pay contractors for there PROFESSIONAL EXPERTISE in doing this, if the place you work for is set on doing this I would advise the to bring in a consultant to help. If they had thought ahead the could've watched what the contractors the had before were using & it would've helped. SIMA has lots of training programs, prodution numbers, etc avaliable for members, it would probably be $ 170 well spent.

4. Neige

Neige Sponsor

Thats one big question. You came to the right place, but you will have to do some homework before we can help.