1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

need help getting started

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by maineguides, Dec 5, 2007.

1. maineguides

maineguides Junior Member

Hi all, I'm just getting started in the plowing business. I live in southern maine. I have a summer business and have needed a winter job and decided on snowplowing. I know I'm behind the curve this season but I figure I could pick up a few accounts this year and build on it next year. I'm having trouble deciding which plow to buy. I have a 2003 chevy 2500hd and am wondering if I should get a straight blade or pony up the money and buy the Vblade. I'm leaning towards fisher but If you guys reccomend something else I'm all ears. If I do go with a straight blade should I get a brand that offers wings? I dont think fisher offers them. I think I'm going to lean toward residental driveways but for the first few years I might try to do some sub work which could include some light commercial.
    Are there any plows you guys do or dont reccomend for that truck?

2. cog-1

cog-1 Senior Member

I like v-blades better, you can push more snow farther, like if there are places you can't push it to the side it will be a lot faster, just my opinion though.
  3. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

For residential and light commercial, a straight blade will do you well. I'm in Central Maine and do private roads with an 8' straight on a 2500HD. Just don't get behind the storm. If you've got the money and just want a V plow, that's fine, too.
  4. maineguides