1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Need Help bidding/estimating a church lot

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by unimog-guy, Dec 8, 2014.

1. unimog-guy

unimog-guy Member

I have been plowing driveways for the past 5 years and one of my customers has asked me to bid his church for him. I will be using a 5/4 ton 4x4 diesel truck with a 7'6" blade. They asked for it to only be done on Wednesday and Sunday should there be snow on the ground. There is a 2" trigger. The picture below is the property with the area included. How long would you estimate it to take using my equipment?

Now for the sidewalks...I have 2 26" snow blowers. The total for the sidewalks is 227ft. What would you charge to salt and remove snow and shovel 10 steps?

Thank you in advance.

image.jpg

Last edited: Dec 8, 2014
  2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Must be a Jehovah Witness

3. John_DeereGreen

John_DeereGreen PlowSite.com Addict

The average for the industry is 1 acre per hour for a truck and 8 foot blade. I would price it as though it takes an hour and a half. The sidewalks I would price as they take 20 minutes to a half hour.

Be careful on only plowing it for church days, as what happens when people drive through it on off days and then snow hits Tuesday night or Wednesday morning and it has to be clean for church? You'll have a hard time scraping the hard pack up.

4. snowplower1

snowplower1 Senior Member