1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

need help being couth

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by a palustris, Mar 7, 2003.

1. a palustris

a palustris Member

Hi. I do not plow snow, currently I am a college student at a LARGE land grant school. This year has given us a bounty of snowfall as most of you know, however I am severely unhappy with the manner in which my school handles it. The reasons why I am unhappy is because the budget is very tight for the school, we keep paying more, but we also keep losing classes, and other essentials. Yet for some reason, the grounds comittee is allowed to do a piss poor job handling snow, in FAR slower times than what it should take. I obviously do not want to gain the contract, however I do want them to improve the quality and speed of the work that they do, because I am tired of slipping and falling around campus from the hardpack and ice which they leave us. Also, hopefully if they improve their methods, we will not lose any more in what once was a quality establishment.
    My complaints are these:
    1) they plow with the shoes on the plows leaving us with about an inch of hard pack to walk on, and drive on.
    2) they have at least a dozen 5 yard loaders and another dozen full size backhoes and tractorsat their disposal (some of which are rented from local companies) yet they only equip them with 10' plows at MOST or just a regular bucket when they could easily use 20' pusher boxes for a lower cost.
    3) They apply a brown, sticky, smelly liquid to the walkways and roads 24 hours before each storm which does absolutely NOTHING to cut down on the snow accumulation.