1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

need another professional plowers opinion before I upgrade to this truck

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by lilsteve08, Nov 27, 2011.

1. lilsteve08

lilsteve08 Senior Member

I currently have a 1989 dodge w-150 and a 1994 dodge 2500 cummins turbo diesel, I found a deal a couple towns over from me and want your honest opinions about this truck I'm going to see, 1999 ford f-250 XLT with less than 40,000 miles on it, really taken car of, never plowed with, and some extra aftermarket add-ons, please don't hold back, I am a professional snow plower and have been 18 years, I've owned a 2001 that I plowed with that seemed to bounce off the snow and to the side when pushing an 8 1/2 foot western ultramount when plowing the streets of a condo I used to do about 6 years ago.

2. dieseltech

dieseltech Senior Member

What motor in the f250? Are you looking to get rid of the dodges or just add to them?

3. ddb maine

ddb maine Senior Member

I have an 04 350. Theres not much difference between the 99 and mine. I have a 9'6" blizzard and My truck does not bounce off the snow or slide. I run 900lbs of ballast and proper snow tires. the 5.4l lacks in the power department but it is reliable. I have 165,000miles and have only replaced a sensor here, selonoid there. change the oil and drive it.

4. lilsteve08

lilsteve08 Senior Member

Thank you for your input, DIESELTECH,I might be selling the 1994 Dodge 2500 Cummins diesel SLT, it has 220,000 miles, good plow truck

5. allstarlawncare

allstarlawncare Member