1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Need advice.

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by 2002F150, Sep 25, 2015.

1. 2002F150

2002F150 Member

Hello folks, I am new to the scene and will be plowing for the first time this winter.. no more snow blower.. LOL

Few questions here..

I need good winter tires. i read on it a bit and seems like Cooper Discoverer M+S is the way to go. They are cheap and are good. Now my question is,

I have 295/75/16 on my truck at the moment. how big and what size should i buy for the Cooper Discoverer M+S? 16's for sure but do i go lower than 295?

Also looking to buy a plow. I will be doing residential lot, between 50 - 60 is my target this winter. What do you recommend to put on my 1999 F-250, v8?

With the plow you are suggesting should i upgrade the front end ? or will the stock front end hold up?

Also, i need to do an oil change before the winter gets here should i go synthetic is it better for plowing or just better in general. also since i just bought the truck few months ago should i have the trany oil checked?

I am in canada here Quebec/gatineau any recommendation as to where to have the oil changed? I was thinking mr.Lube, or there is Oil exchanger in ottawa.

Anything else i need to get done before the season starts.

Am not too mechanic savvy so all has to probably be done.. :mechanic:

Any tips and tricks on plowing are welcome to make my first year a success :)

Thank you

2. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

That's the heavy half 250 7700lb truck. IMO nothing bigger then 8'

If you just bought this truck, you need to go through it. It could need lots of items.