1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

need advice !

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by nekos, Oct 16, 2003.

1. nekos

nekos Senior Member

I'm looking at 2 trucks to buy and can't figure out what one to buy.
    a 97 dodge 1500 SLT 5.2 V8 or a 98 dodge ram 2500 SLT 5.2 V8.
    both trucks are slightly over my price range so i would like to get one with lower miles on it . the 1500 has 56 k and the 2500 has 80 k . this truck is going to be my main driving vehicle as well as my work truck. i will be doing driveways and small lot's.
    I'm new to plowing , this will be my first year. i would really appreciate any advice you all could give me on my first plow truck :)

2. wyldman

wyldman Member

I'd go with the 2500.It's a much heavier duty truck,and will carry a plow better.You can put a bigger plow on it as well.The few extra miles that are on it probably aren't a big deal.

Welcome to Plowsite. :D

3. Jake00

Jake00 Junior Member
    from Maine

IMHO, I'd go with the heavier one. It will most likely have a heavier duty tranny, and probably a tranny cooling system, where the 1500 may or may not. I have a '94 Chevy 2500 with over 162,000 miles and it's still going strong ... heavy duty tranny and tranny cooling system mean a lot in the world of plowing. I drive it daily. I also agree that it will carry a plow better ... as well as sand or anything else you put in it.

Just my 2 cents.

--Jim

4. Mike 97 SS

Mike 97 SS Banned
    from U.S.A.