1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Need advice...

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by CLC03, Jan 26, 2011.

1. CLC03

CLC03 Junior Member

I have considered going into the snow removal business for a number of years. I am a full-time teacher and have a well-established lawn care business currently. I have been hesitant to start because I didn't feel like I would be able to handle it by myself and finding "good" help can be difficult. I also did not want to take away from family time especially around the holidays. Anyway, I approached a contractor that is considering the snow removal business also. WE are both in similar situations. I am looking for advice on how to go about starting the business with this person. Do I sub for him, does he sub for me, partnership, separate entity, etc.????????????????? What have you guys done or seen in situations like this?
    Thanks for your input.
  2. Rc2505

Rc2505 PlowSite.com Addict

Stay as far away from a partnership as possible. One of you sub for the other and call it good. Make sure if your doing the sub thing, that you both have proper insurance coverages.
  3. Kenyou

Kenyou Senior Member

This has been talked about before and it boils down to Money and Friends don't mix as a rule.
  4. blee1ash

blee1ash Senior Member

Finding good help is hard, but possible. I know what a lot of guys are trying to pay their help, and that is why they can't find anyone good. You get what you pay for.
  5. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

snow removal is a 24/7 business
    family comes second when it is snowing
  6. Plowtoy

Plowtoy Senior Member