1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Need advice on sub-contracting a route

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Jguck25, Jan 31, 2010.

1. Jguck25

Jguck25 Senior Member

Hey I have been plowing with my dad for the last couple years and this is my first year completely on my own with my own truck and equipment. I am 19 and really getting into this whole snow removal service.

This year I have 25 accounts that my father and I split and some of them are fcommercial and take a good amount of time so I do not think i would be able to take on too many more myself or customers will be unhappy with the wait time because they have to be done every 2-3 inches of accumulation, and when we get fast falling storms it gets a little cramped. I do slightly over half of the driveways and then my father does the other half, i do everything with the business and just pay him after the storm for 100% of what he plowed.
    So far everyone has been very happy with the quality, promptness, and prices. This is great but I am getting a lot of new calls that i cannot take on but would love to expand my services.
    My question is what would be the best thing to do in my situation. I want to set up a third route and sub-contract it out to someone local under my business name. I am not sure how i would go about that whole situation with paying him, but i have thought of two different ways

1.). Would I pay him by the hour? If so how much if he does not have his own business, just a local guy with a dependable truck and plow.
    OR

2.) take a percentage of the whole route and tell him that I will pay X amount for this route. If so, say if it is a $450route for me, how much should I pay him?