1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Need Advice..New to the Business

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by golfprojp, Oct 18, 2011.

1. golfprojp

golfprojp Junior Member

I just joined the forum and can tell you there is a ton of info here, I have been visiting it for about a week and still haven't even scratched the surface.. My question is this: I am completely new to the snow removal business, I am a professional golfer and a GM at a local club in Chicago by trade. I receive a salary for 12 months but do not have to go in Dec-March so I am looking at buying a used vehicle and trying to work for a snow removal company this winter. I figure it would be very good additional income and keep me from going crazy and stringing up the kids this winter. Where do I start? If I call a local company advertising on Craigslist would they want someone with experience or be willing to give me a chance. How do you guys handle seasonal/new hires? Any suggestions on how to approach them? I am extremely reliable and always the 1st to arrive and last to leave but this is a lilttle new to me. Thanks in advance for any suggestions and I apologioze for the long-winded post!
  2. Brian Young

Brian Young PlowSite Veteran