1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

need advice: looking at a 2002 Chevy 2500HD 6.0L....

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by VTDave, Mar 6, 2011.

1. VTDave

VTDave Member
    from VT

I'm looking at a 2002 Chevy 2500HD 6.0L gasser (LT trim, ext cab for those who care). It has 160k on the clock. Comes with a 8ft Fisher MM plow ("used for his own driveway only").

I am a reasonably competent mechanic to do a basic inspection. But I want to hear from you Chevy guys exactly what to look for. What known issues should I watch out for?

And, how long are those 6.0Ls lasting?

Thanks,
    Dave

2. flykelley

flykelley 2000 Club Member

6.0 is a great engine, many out there with over 200K on them. Exhaust mainafold bolts are a comon failure as is the reverse band in the trans. Heater blower resistor is another one. All in all I love my chevy, its a 05 with 118K on it and its been a plow truck and a work truck the whole time. Gam milage sucks but it was built to work. Plenty of power and torque. Window regulators can also fail at the worst time. Would I buy another one, for sure, next fall I will be looking to add another chevy to the fleet.

Mike

3. brianbrich1

brianbrich1 PlowSite.com Addict

Well as you read the chevy post check the front frame area....

4. VTDave

VTDave Member
    from VT

Mike: thanks for the advice

Brianbrich: where does the front frame tend to rot/fail? By the motor mounts? Or further up where the plow frame attaches?

5. StratfordPusher

StratfordPusher Senior Member

Brake Lines

Check all the steel brake lines, they like to rot up on top of the frame... 6.0 is a pig on fuel
    compared to my 2 D-max....

6. Sydenstricker Landscaping