1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

my review of my own western setup

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by kwegman003, Feb 27, 2008.

1. kwegman003

kwegman003 Member

I have been plowing for 3 years(Sealing driveways in the summer is my main deal). I bought a new(to me) 97 f350 this year and needed to decide on a plow setup to install. I came here for many reviews and pros and cons. Being in college on a limited budget I bought a conventional 7.5 western with a back blade for $500. I thank myself every day for this choice. I was looking at uni/ultra mounts that were $2000/$3500. My plow pushes the same snow as the more expensive units. They may be nice, but I will take the $1500-$3000 in the bank rather than a new model plow. To anyone considering what plow to buy, I strongly recommend a conventional cable mount system if you are interested in moving snow.

To those of you with nice setups, no insult to your plow, I just cant complain about the price/performance of mine.

Another thing not related to westerns, I saved about $5000 in buying a 97(older body) rather than a 99 f350. It handles snow great, and I strongly recommend a 1 ton over the 3/4 I have used the past two years. nothing better than being up ontop of a pile, and backing out with ease!

2. 84deisel

84deisel Senior Member