1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

My pricing thoughts.

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by glenspot, Sep 1, 2004.

1. glenspot

glenspot Senior Member

I am just starting out, so I am trying very hard to build a customer base. Here is what I am doing.

There are several small communities where I live. In Ramsay, there are 230 households. I am sending a nice postcard to them ALL next week. (costing around $70) If I can snag 10 - 15 people out of 230. Thats, what? 5% return. Not TOO much to expect I don't think.

I am offering a 6am guarantee to the first batch I sign up. Research seems to indicate that plow guys around here are charging somewhere in the neighbrohood of $5 per push. (short, residential-type pushes) So, I am offering approx the same amount, maybe $5 less than what I think they would offer. Most of them had a 2" trigger.

As an option, though, I am giving customers the option to pay a flat monthly fee. So, say, that drive way that costs them $25 per occurance last year, could cost him $150 a month this year. Some months they would make a killing, some months I would. Winters here can start in September and last into April or May. The flat monthly fee would mean that I don't charge them every time I have to drop the blade. They are paying for a season-long service. I don't want them to DREAD the sight of me. I want them to rejoice when they see me. To be happy that they hired the RIGHT GUY to do their snow. Also, with the flat fee system I know what my income will be. Even if we have a TERRIBLE winter I can count my chickens before they hatch.