1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

My MM2 rises over snow backdragging?

Discussion in 'Fisher Engineering Discussion' started by pjnlandscape, Jan 3, 2011.

1. pjnlandscape

pjnlandscape Member

I am new to plowing snow this year so keep the snooty comments to yourselves lol. I have a few driveways I have to back drag, my problem is when I back up the plow tends to rise and compact about an inch or so of snow, this defeats the purpose doesn't it? I put the plow down and put it to "float", is that incorrect? Any tips would be appreciated.

2. tiaquessa

tiaquessa Senior Member

tWell first off, we're from New England. Most of what we get is the kind of snow that compacts easily. Try this- After you've back dragged from the garage, go back out and drop the blade. Plow towards the garage, and lift the blade about 3 or 4 feet before the door. Then put the blade on the other side of what you just plowed, and back drag that. And yes, you putting it in float is the right thing to do. Don't worry, you'll learn as you go. The most important thing is to go slow, and don't hit anything.

3. Mnpowerstroke99

Mnpowerstroke99 Member

Thats exactly what I do.I also have a backdrag edge on my plow.

4. cubicinches

cubicinches PlowSite.com Addict

That's what Fisher HD plows do... we like to call them "groomers"

If you want a plow that backdrags well, you need a Western.

:popcorn:

5. pjnlandscape

pjnlandscape Member

Thanks guys I will try that during our next storm.

6. chevyzrule810

chevyzrule810 PlowSite.com Addict