1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

My first 810

Discussion in 'Blizzard Plows Discussion' started by larryhd, Feb 23, 2008.

1. larryhd

larryhd Senior Member
    from vermont

I am getting my first 810 put on Tue. 2-26-08 on my 05 2500HD. I am curious if there is anything about the plow that I need to know or if anything needs to be done to my truck. Any suggestions are appriciated.
    I have always had straight blades and this is my first time with a veristile plow.
    Thanks Larry
  2. TurfSolutionsMN

TurfSolutionsMN Senior Member
    from MN

Congrats about the plow!! I just purchased their 8611 for my 1992 Int. This will be the first plow I have ever owned or ran, so I hope everything goes alright. I bought it new for 5000.00 installed w/ 1 year warranty. My dealer just had the moldboard and all the other parts are going to be new.
  3. fastjohnny

fastjohnny Senior Member

Larry, congratulations on your purchase. Standard procedure for your truck would be to crank the torsion bars 4-5 turns, and add Timbrens, and carry some ballast in the rear of t he bed, my choice is usually a pallet of salt.

As for the plow, is should run well right out of the box, however there are a number of things that can be done to improve performance, longevity, and/or serviceability. Lots of these have been discussed in the blizzard forums. In short though, keep your pins lubed (wings and slide box cylinder pins), change fluid with complete flush each year, and give things a look over every now and again to check for problems. One more thing on your truckside mount-If they retain the stock tow hooks, you should use grade 10 metric bolts instead of the 8.8 that come in the hardware pack last I knew.