1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

My 96 Chevy Tahoe Plow Truck

Discussion in 'Equipment, Tools & Vehicle Pictures' started by Bryan C. King, Jan 19, 2004.

1. Bryan C. King

Bryan C. King Junior Member

Sorry for such a big picture. My name is Bryan C. King and I am a newbie on this forum. I belong to several other forums like *****. This picture is of my 96 Tahoe. I just put the plow on this year and have plowed with it a few times. I have had a few small problems but have fixed them all. I am a local police officer and have an automotive detailing and repair business on the side.

My Plow was purchased from a friend of mine that moved to Florida. I paid $1500 for the plow and had to have the wiring and mounts installed on my truck. Cost me $1100 to have it all hooked up. I had a problem during the first snow storm because the plow was soo heavy on the front end. I cranked up the torsion bars as far as they would go and the front tires still rubbed on the inside lip of my fenders.

I had to carry a small hammer and after every driveway bang the fender lip back in place to keep them rubbing on my tires. Needless to say I ruined my two front tires and need new front fender mouldings. The tires and rims that are on the truck in the picture are obviously aftermarket and were given to me buy a friend of mine. They seemed to stick out a little too far, so I looked into getting some new rims and tires for my truck.

After a search on ebay I found a set of brand new 2004 Z71 tires and rims for $500.00. Cost me an additional $100 to have them shipped but I felt it was well worth it.