1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Mounting a box plow on an articulated truck

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment' started by Aerospace Eng, Mar 14, 2015.

1. Aerospace Eng

Aerospace Eng Senior Member

INTRODUCTION

I'm starting this thread since people had asked for details on the construction details on my truck when I had asked a question on the airport forum. It was diverging from the original question, and I thought it would be better to have a thread on the construction itself.

I am an engineer, and will probably ping the geek meter, but feel free to ask questions and I will do my best to answer them.

Moxy with Snopusher.jpg

2. Aerospace Eng

MISSION

Since every design has a reason, some explanation is in order. Feel free to skip.

The mission is to plow the ramp areas among some hangar buildings.

I have been involved in the construction of new hangars at the Zelienople Municipal Airport. This involved the construction of a new ramp area and some buildings, as shown in the attached image.

The airport has some conventional highway plow trucks, two pickups with plows, and a forestry machine with a 16' broom. However, with the new hangar construction, the plow trucks won't work because there are buildings on both sides of the taxilanes.

The narrower taxilanes are 75 feet wide, and the larger is 90 feet. The taxilanes are 700 feet long, and there is a 20 foot road between the hangar buildings and the detention pond.

The ramp area on the other end is about 600x200

ALP-cropped.jpg

3. Aerospace Eng

CHOICE OF BOX PLOW