1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Most important based on priority

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by highmark923, Aug 15, 2011.

1. highmark923

highmark923 Member

I'm somewhat new to plowing and only have a handful of residential accounts. My main goal is to ensure I don't run into snags with equipment failures. With that I have a 2000 Chevy 1500 Silverado with a 5.3. Based on some research and for the year of my truck which upgrades would you recommend in priority out of the following:

1. Upgraded Alternator
    2. Adding a second battery
    3. Trans Cooler

I have a limited budget and want to ensure I place my money in the most crucial spots to start. Thanks in advance.

2. pooleo8

pooleo8 Senior Member

Trans cooler takes priority imho. Followed by bigger alternator and increased power wire and ground wire.

3. bradlewislawnca

bradlewislawnca Member

How about HD fan clutch. Had a 04 before and less likely to overheat with that in than before. It was $70 and they let me borrow the tools

4. Cosmic Charlie

Cosmic Charlie Senior Member

My friend plows driveway with a 2003 1500 5.3 8' fisher for 5 years with NO upgrades, and no issues ... just solid maintenance

Being nice to your truck when plowing is the best advise I can offer. Be Gentle - No BS - If the snow gets deep put the blade just half way down at 1st pass, don't push heavy snow banks, come to a stop before shifting from D to R ... R to D