1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Moron designers at GM

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by Barkleymut, Apr 2, 2003.

1. Barkleymut

Barkleymut PlowSite Veteran

I've been keeping up with this forum pretty well for the past several months so I hope this isn't a repeat comment. I changed the oil myself for the first time today on my 03 2500HD w/6Liter. I thought the drain plug looked awfully close to the exhaust pipe. Well I went ahead and bam. The oil went everywhere. I know not many people change their own oil anymore, but come on. Also what is up with the tube you pour the oil into? I looks like a 5 cent piece of plastic. Also why is the oil filter so small? Seems like my 98 Dodge w/a 318 had a filter that was twice this size.

And most important. How much oil should I put in there??? I got a free oil change at the dealer for the first one and they put in 6.5 quarts. The owners manual says 6 quarts. Maybe I'll just call the dealership tomorrow. The oil filter sure is hard to get a good grip on. There is no room between the filter and the oil pan for almost half of the gripping area.

Enough gripeing though. I really love the truck. It pulls a 24 ft trailer weighing about 7,000 lbs. with no problems. When unhitched it drives like a dream.

2. wxmn6

wxmn6 PlowSite.com Addict

For a moment, I thought that this is another thread about the Chevy '03 front end design. :D