1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Money Up Front for Contracts?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by coreyod21, Dec 3, 2011.

1. coreyod21

coreyod21 Member

Hey this is my first year and im going to be signing some of my landscaping customers to snow contracts. I was wondering if you guys make them give all the money up front for the season or maybe just like 2/3 of the contract till the end of the season. What works best for you guys? Most of these drives are in a area that isnt full of money if that matters. Hope someone can let me pick their brain a little thanks !!

2. White Gardens

White Gardens 2000 Club Member

It's called a retainer.

The retainer is harder and harder to get these days around our area. There is enough people plowing that don't request them, that it's hard to compete.

We also can have winters with no snow at all, and those winter leave people scratching their heads on why they paid a retainer in the first place.

So, as a good business practice, you should be saving up as much money as possible during the off season to get you through the winter.

3. 7_below

7_below Senior Member

I give my clients the option to pay all up front or half now to activate the agreement. If they pay half, I invoice them by January 15th to pay the balance to continue service thru April 1st. Plus it can go on the following years tax's (2013). Per plow I bill monthly. Make sure you have your billing schedule very clear in your agreement. Don't be wishy washy about it.

4. White Gardens

White Gardens 2000 Club Member