1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

mixing salt & Calcium Chloride

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by BD Exteriors, Jan 20, 2010.

1. BD Exteriors

BD Exteriors Junior Member

I am fairly new to the ice management side of snow removal and have some questions about mixing salt and calcium chloride. I have been spreading strait salt for the whole season, and I am looking for something with a little bit more bite, I'm wondering if adding a 50lb bag of calcium chloride per yard would help? or how many bags per yard would help?

And also would that keep my bulk salt from getting hard on the pile or in the v/box?

Or any other recommendations would be helpful

thanks

2. NW Snow Removal

NW Snow Removal Senior Member

salt freezes when below 15 degrees if it has moisture in it so as far as keeping it from freezing in the vbox make sure you don't store it outside loaded. Try and store bulk material inside so it stays dry, as the more moisture you add the more likely it will freeze. it is is frozen adding a lil dry calcium will help, but not very well, and certainly not as much as liquid.

3. deicepro

deicepro PlowSite.com Addict

Heres my $.02
    Mix up some calcium chloride liquid and spray your salt pile, its easy to do.
    I can spread salt for 2 weeks straight after a storm, so I leave my truck fully loaded, all the time, covered of course, never had salt freeze in the hopper unless it gets wet with the cover off, Then I just spray it down with CC and good to go again. The liquid will give your salt more bite.

4. Westhardt Corp.

Westhardt Corp. Senior Member