1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Misc. Questions

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by jeffslawnservic, Dec 15, 2011.

1. jeffslawnservic

jeffslawnservic Member

Few quick questions and bare with me I am relatively new to some of this. This one is more for some PA people, I heard that snow plowing is non taxable but deicing is? Is this true or what should I be collecting sales tax on and what should I not.

Second I am trying to figure out my oper head and hourly rate better, how to I go about figuring what my truck costs per hour. (depreciation, maintenance, wear and tear, ect.) Also if someone has a sample bid proposal form I could look at to help draw one up on my own I would really appreciate it. (In the past most of the people I would see face to face and the lots were small so I could give them a ball park price and they would either agree and ask for a contract and I would put he actual numbers on that or they would say no.)

2. jklawn&Plow

jklawn&Plow Senior Member

If your going to start crunching numbers it might be helpful to learn some basic excel so you can save a lot of time and have the info updatable or change it and not have to spend as much time.

Depreciation is a legal term and a reality term.
    Legally it is the amount you can deduct on your taxes as a business expense. This is an average amount and is the same for every similar vehicle. In reality your truck is depreciated by more because it is being worked hard and has a plow on it. But you can't really deduct for this unless something breaks and then you can deduct for the parts you buy and the labor you buy but not your own labor.