1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

mini bar and leds?

Discussion in 'Strobe Lighting' started by FSLC, Dec 4, 2012.

1. FSLC

FSLC Member
    from KC, Mo.

I am currently running a star strobe 360 beacon, a nas traffic assist, and two srobe hide awayys and want to upgrade.ussmileyflagussmileyflagI want to choose between 3 mini bars:
    1. whelen responder con 3 amber.
    2. Whelen 16" century amber.
    3. Star halo series

I also have a few surface mount leds in mind:
    1. sirennet snl3sn
    2. Whelen 500 smart led
    3. nova slultra

Let me know what you guys think.
  2. jhall22guitar

jhall22guitar PlowSite.com Addict

Buy from SNM. I have no experience with any of the items you listed, but I have seen the responder on various vehicles, and they work great.

I have an axxixtech mini bar, not the tiny one on SNM but the bigger one, and it works great too. Not a bad price either. Then I stuck two mini falcons behind my rear seats headrests against my rear window and they give great light output towards the rear. I didnt see the sense in getting a 4-6 strobe kit and having two in the front if people wont see them.
  3. Too Stroked

Too Stroked Senior Member

I'm a big fan of Star products since they're right down the road from me and generally make pretty good stuff. Quite honestly though, that Halo mini bar is pretty weak - as are most of the "round" LED lights I've seen. (The NYSDOT has converted most of their plow trucks from rotators to round LEDs and they're absolutely pathetic.) There are strobe and rotator versions of that same mini bar that are both significantly less expensive and significantly brighter.