1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Might have an Issue.

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by hiniker08, Dec 29, 2015.

1. hiniker08

hiniker08 Junior Member

Hello all, I am new to this sight. I have a question for you all and you may or may not have an answer for me. I have a Hiniker Straight Blade on my truck. My dad bought it brand new in 1999 I would say and have had no problems with the plow ever. Not one part has been replaced. Anyways we had a storm warning start here and I put the plow on yesterday. All the functions work fine, but I do notice that the plow does not raise as high as it used to. The bottom of the blade used to be around 10 in or so off the ground when raised and now it is maybe 4 in off the ground. This makes it very difficult to drive down the road for fear of catching a man hole cover or something. Is there any adjustments on these plows? Could it be a Selonoid that needs to be cleaned? I have worked on Boss, Western and Meyer plows and know them real well but like I said not one part on this hiniker has ever gone bad. Your help is greatly appreciated.

2. flyguyirvin65

flyguyirvin65 Member

I would check fluid level first. If it hasnt been changed since new you r very lucky two make it that long. Fluid should be changed every year

3. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

Is the resivor full?

Are the springs tired?
    Counterweight?

4. hiniker08

hiniker08 Junior Member

The fluid is full, the fluid was changed last year and has not been replaced this year. Snow Farmer, what springs are you talking about? And the Truck is used as the counter weight, am I wrong? The truck that it is on is a 1996 Ram 2500 Cummins.